Tits and Giggles

Not that long ago I realized how few women there are in Rhode Island comedy. I would go to a show and be lucky if there was a women on the show. Additionally, I would be lucky if there was another female comedian to hang out with at shows. The worst was when you were on a show and you get introduced as “the only woman on the bill.” Yes, I am the only comedian on the bill with a vagina but what does that matter? That being said, I was done with it. So I started asking promoters for the names of female comedians they knew so I can find them on Facebook. From there I’ve started a Facebook private group for female/femme identifying comedians in the New England area and it’s called “Tits and Giggles.” If you are interested in joining please shoot me an email or message on facebook.

We had our first informal outing of 2016. A few girls: Heather May, Nina Shaut, and Fallon Masterson met up with me to go to dinner at the Garden Grille before heading to Danny Terilli’s Stand Up Comedy show at the Parlour in Providence. It was a blast with guys from Massachusetts on the bill and surprise, NO WOMEN. I’ve talked to Danny about this and we’ve just worked out Lizzy Mazzucchelli on the 2/5 show at Parlour. She is also a “Tits and Giggles” member as well as my 1st comedy buddy. I can’t wait for her to return to the area for a mini tour. (2/6 she’s on my show People for People.) We also ran into Lindsey Semple at the bar. Lindsey (#coolvagina) was on the last show of Danny’s I saw. It was Halloween and she was great. She’s leaving for Brooklyn so I’m super happy for her and hope she has a great time as a #coolvagina in the city. After that show, Nina and I headed over to see Biscuit City and Improv Jones at AS220 Blackbox. It was a blast and I highly suggest you all get out for more LIVE COMEDY. It’s everywhere if you know where to look.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Additionally, I’d like to announce that I will be starting a online series called “J.A.X.: Just About Everything.”

J.A.X.: Just About Everything 
Jax Adele hosts comedians, cosplayers, performers, and more in her open topic interviews. Expect laughter, weirdness, creativity, and the “X” factor which makes this not suitable for young children.

Tonight, I will be interviewing comedian Tricia Auld. I found out about Tricia when the Weekly Dig featured her. We chatted online and eventually I went to see her perform in Boston. She was great, especially performing some more graphic material in front of her cop dad. (My dad was a cop too.) I’m excited to get 2016 off to a great start with content like this to add to my blog and YouTube. I’m hoping to get these out every Tuesday and perhaps make the LIVE stream available when it happens. More will be posted but if you subscribe to my YouTube, you will be in the know.

Until more shenanigans. Girl Power!

Jax

