David Bowie 1947-2016

The following ramblings are all my David Bowie memories. I was very sad to hear that we lost a fellow magical creature today. He will always be remembered, revered, and his impact is rippling forever.

  • I remember having a white radio which played cassettes and CDs. I had been given a few Disney Classic CDs to play in it but no cassettes. My parents had the old entertainment center in our basement and in it’s drawers were random things forgotten by my parents or kept for storage. In these drawers I found FAME 90. This cassette was a singlette. (Apparently “singlette” isn’t a real word but to me it means a cassette single. Oh the things you learn from blogging.) A cassette with only one song in 4 tracks. I remember feeling like I wasn’t supposed to have this tape or listen to it because my parents hadn’t given it to me. I just took it from the drawer. It must have been 91 or 92 so I was only 6 or 7. I also truly believed that the word “Fame” was repeated 90 times because otherwise why would they call it that.

fame

Please feel free to listen to the following YouTube video as you read the rest of this post.

  • Labyrinth. I can’t remember a specific first for this movie but I know it was always around as a kid. My sister is 4 years older than me and I know it’s one of her favorites. I know the scene with the worm and the labyrinth walls always freaked me out because of the optical illusion it presented. I loved the magic and costumes. Any surprise?
  • Fast forward to my teenage years and exploring music. The 80s made a big impact including Bowie, Queen, the Ramones, the Sex Pistols, and Cyndi Lauper.
  • Then in 2003/4 my college boyfriend Greg took me to see David Bowie at the Boston Garden. It was an amazing show but the biggest thing I noticed was that coincidentally Bowie and I had the same hair at this point in life.

180px-david_bowie_reality

  • Now it’s 7/11/2008. I was just let go from a job I didn’t like. Then I went to a wedding with Andy. It was an open bar with beer and wine. I drank so much wine that when we left the wedding to go to Superhero Goth Night at Xmortis in Cambridge, I was pretty primed. I remember we went outside to get some air. I sang “Changes” to a homeless man who asked for change. I was dressed as Dazzler. This might not have been PC but I felt moved to sing Bowie.

1934422_552673181481_5492224_n (1)

  • Now it’s 2015 and Jimmy tells me he’s never seen Labyrinth. We watch the movie and I post something to instagram.

#labrynth #davidbowie #dancemagicdance #movie #night with my bubs

A post shared by Jax Adele (@thejaxadele) on

  • The next day I receive the following notification from this instagram user:
  • What great news! Bowie’s crotch was following me. Dream come true!

I am deeply saddened by the passing of David Bowie. He was an amazing talent and his ability to be a role model for a large group of people who feel unaccepted in society is huge! His style and androgyny is something I admire.

Goodbye Goblin King. I love you!

Jax

 

 

