All work and no play makes Jax a dull…

Well that’s not entirely true. It’s not so much play as much as creative play time. It’s something essential to my being. When I don’t get it, I deplete. It’s apparent in my behaviors and patterns. When I allow myself to be creative and recharge, I feel more like me, Jax. Creative play can be as easy as making someone a birthday card and as complicated as working on a friends wedding dress. It’s the time I use to focus on something outside of myself. It’s not typically digital. It’s a dress, or a painting, or a pretty cake. I am a maker. I make everything or at least try to.

The older I get the more I understand myself and how exactly I function. The more I understand, the easier it is for me to notice my slumps or mood changes. I can be proactive and work towards improving them.

Awhile back I had noticed that I was focusing on work so hard, that I was forgetting to recharge my battery. My boss at one job told me I had lost my mojo. Had I? At first I just laughed and shrugged her off, I was seeing someone at the time and thought of mojo as a sexual term. I didn’t think I had lost my mojo….but maybe she meant my creative mojo. I set out to fix this problem which was timely since my friend’s wedding was approaching and I had the dress to make anyway.

The focus on the dress, the problem solving it took to accomplish the task, and the overwhelming sense of accomplishment once it was done did the trick. I had my mojo back and I began using it on starting new projects. I’ve been keeping up the mojo since this happened but I’m keenly aware now of how important it is for me to keep working on my creative endeavors. I can’t just work and party/relax (whatever you call it). I have to be creative to keep going.

DSC_3771

DSC_3296

Jax doing her job. 

More on the wedding dress and wedding to come.

Thanks for stopping by! Jax

